Dynamic Warm up – part 2!

There are a million ways to approach the dynamic warm up but let’s be real – its a quick 5-10 minutes in your work out, and therefore, the mental brain power it takes to write one shouldn’t tax you for the rest of the day.

My favorite ways to approach it are as follows:

1. Don’t get married to this number, but usually 6 exercises written in tri-sets and performed in a circuit style are great.  Depending on your issues, you can focus on one area a little more, but generally speaking, going through both these circuits 2-3 times before each workout goes a long way.  It also takes about 5-7 minutes, which is an appropriate time for a warm up.

2. Just like with anything else, start simple.  We didn’t go from crawling to sprinting, so take it down a notch.  Start with your exercises from the floor, then progress to exercises that are standing, then finally add the multijoint movements.  All 3 can be in the same dynamic warm up, but if you’re unsure, this is an easy way to categorize where moves should go.

  • ALSO: be mindful of your equipment.  If you know you’re going to use plates, bands or dumbbells in your warm up, try to group all the plate moves together, all the band moves together and all the DB moves together so you’re not scrambling for pieces of equipment in between exercises. It sounds like common sense, but sometimes we get over ambitious thinking about everything else that we forget stupid little things.  This is a fun tip that applies for the bulk of your workout as well – if you know you’re going to do a circuit in a crowded gym, you might want to consider this in your programming.  It isn’t “wrong”, it is just realistic.  I can’t tell you how many times I had to change my “perfect” program on the fly just because of space & equipment issues.  Save yourself the stress and plan ahead.

3. When possible, pick moves that cover multiple issues in one.  The more you can get from one exercise, the better.  For example: let’s say you have tight hamstrings, hip flexors, latissimus dorsi and internal rotators (aka you’re human).  Instead of doing walking leg kicks (frankensteins) for the hamstrings, you can do a walking lunge with an overhead reach into straight leg stretch. This takes care of MOST of those issues in one simple exercise. I have a whole bunch of these that I program simply because they are time efficient and work.

For more tips & ideas, check out this post from Eric Cressey.  He always has great mobility drills – a lot of which I’ve taken for my own program & for the lacrosse girls.

http://www.ericcressey.com/6-characteristics-good-dynamic-warm-up

I wasn’t able to film my whole warm up, but I did share a two of my favorites.  I used to have very tight hamstrings, lats and hip flexors (specifically the rectus femoris, which is the quad muscle that crosses the hip).  Aka this bad boy:

Rectus femoris muscle

With that in mind, I programmed a few drills into my warm up that have made me feel ten times better.

This is one I got from EC (yes, I’m still filming from photo booth – I was invited to the Golden Globes but I had to decline)- For this one, be sure to keep your chest up. (Even higher than I did, I’m leaning forward slightly)

This one I just combined the inchworm with a hip mobility drill (on tile, in socks, which added an extra stability component for your enjoyment)

Hope this helps – I’ll be posting better videos ASAP with the help of some friends.  Let me know if there’s some stuff you wanna see!
About sten06

Master's in Kinesiology: Strength & Conditioning BSed in Exercise physiology -NSCA CSCS -NASM CPT, PES -Varsity Lacrosse Coach Saving the world one workout at a time ;)

Posted on January 16, 2012, in Fitness, Strength & Conditioning, Training and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I LOVE the twist you put on the inchworm! SO GOOD, I will be using that tonight 🙂
    my clients hate inchworms though…haha

  2. I love inchworms!!!! I tend to just use plates because I don’t want to have to walk all over the freakin’ gym to track down other equipment but you have a good point…I could just ORGANIZE myself. 😉 haha!

  3. i ALWAYS do those hip opener stretches with inchworms and just did a post about dynamic warm up myself!!

  4. Love those spiderman lunges! I have so many of my athletes doing those, definitely a great hip opener!

  1. Pingback: A Stadium Workout | I Train, Therefore I Eat.

Leave a Reply

