Time out – 24!

Yesterday was my 24th birthday & today I’m celebrating with my 24th post! And in 24 hours (a little less, but we’re sticking to a theme here) I’ll OFFICIALLY be a “Master” of strength & conditioning. That, by the way, is THE fiercest master’s degree title out there, I don’t care what anyone says. I can’t wait to rock it.

I know I owe you guys a final installment of SPARQ training and I promise its coming, but this is a celebratory check-in post filled with random updates that I figured I’d share with you all 🙂

Training updates:

As I posted about a month or so ago, I officially accomplished the 10 pull ups that I set out to achieve as part of my new year’s resolution in January. I plan to do a post all about how I FINALLY got over the hump of 6-8 reps and how it can apply to most exercises. I experimented A LOT, but finally seemed to find an approach that worked for me. Hopefully some of you find it helpful!

Lately, [and somewhat surprisingly], I’ve been focusing most of my training around various types of running – different interval lengths, sprint repeats, agility drills and just general conditioning. I do this every so often to change up my routine & to tweak my work capacity. I struggle to get super motivated for these workouts sometimes because they’re brutal but they’re worth it in the end. Even if I go home and do this:

Completely accurate.

Don’t worry though – I’m definitely not neglecting the weights – that would go against all I stand for 😉 – But right now I’m just focusing more on some power stuff & metabolics. I’m keeping a lot of the load submaximal & only putting in about 2 lifting days per week. My strength has remained relatively constant, & I’m not worried about losing too much. After a few more weeks of this running stuff I plan to change it up again. I’ll be due for some corrective work definitely- the extra running always throws a few things out of whack no matter how much I try to keep it balanced, so its important to cycle through phases.

Life updates

The only thing worth mentioning is I’m looking for a full time job like every one else in the free world so I don’t have to live in a cardboard box with my silly diploma and certifications to keep me company. AKA: living in limbo until further notice. Early 20’s is a fun time.

But thankfully its my fave time of year – NBA PLAYOFFS, so we’re good.

 

Good reads

With everything ending, I’ve finally had time to catch up on some reading. Even though I tweet up a storm whenever I read something worthwhile, I figured I’d post some of the ones I’ve come across lately. Enjoy!

Top 10 Movements to Build Explosive Power in Athletes – Wil Fleming

SI Joint Dysfunction – Dean Somerset

5 Great In-Season Lower-Body Strength Exercises That Won’t Make You Sore – Eric Cressey

The Real Deal on Adrenal Fatigue – Robb Wolff

About sten06

Master's in Kinesiology: Strength & Conditioning BSed in Exercise physiology -NSCA CSCS -NASM CPT, PES -Varsity Lacrosse Coach Saving the world one workout at a time ;)

Posted on May 9, 2012, in Fitness, Lacrosse, Strength & Conditioning, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. A few things: 1)Happy Birthday (again)!!! 24 is fab, you wear it well 🙂 2)CONGRATS on the MS my dear!! It IS quite the bad ass degree, and I’m sure you will find a great job somewhere to rock it! 3)Ugghhhhh I’ve been trying to incorporate more run and metabolic work into my sessions lately as well and it makes me want to cry every time. 4)Love that Dean Somerset article! SI dysfunction is one of the most frustrating things to treat as an AT, it is so persistent and has he mentions, pretty much every thing exacerbates it. Great reads! Oh and that little clip from Bridesmaids gets me every time.. Ha!!

  2. thank youuuu!!! we’re obviously one step closer to taking over the world. & i’m glad i’m not the only one struggling with conditioning haha… so many tears! OHHH and i tried that stair workout you posted a few weeks ago using bleachers and it rocked 🙂 – PS i’m hoping to get up north near the end of the summer to visit home…if im able to make my way to boston we NEED to meet up & rock a workout! slash eat our feelings. you down?!

    • I’m glad you liked the stair workout!! I am trying to get out there this week but it’s been raining in Boston NON STOP. Boooo. Anyway… Yes I’m SO down, that would be awesome!!! Def send me an email if you’re coming up and we can plan something!

  3. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! We are birthday neighbors 😀

    Congrats on graduating!! I hope you find your perfect job soon =D

Leave a Reply

