Moving Top 10

The past few weeks I’ve been preparing to move/moving out of my apartment. For anyone that’s ever moved before – whether its big or small – you know that a mission this really is. BUT fortunately, despite my aching shoulders and poor attitude, it gave me the perfect idea for a blog post. Every box I lifted, every load I carried and every awkward trash bag I tossed made me thankful for the type of training I do on a regular basis. So here are my top 10 moving-related exercises that made this whole thing possible!

1. Deadlift – This pretty much goes without saying, but the number of boxes that were deadlifted and put on trucks, in cars, or in dumpsters this past week made me thankful for every variation of this exercise and the good technique that comes with it. If you don’t deadlift – start. Even if its not heavy, just having the proper technique saves your back a ton in the long run when you have to do something epic, like move your life

2. Cleans & Clean/Overhead Press combinations – Since I’m a staggering 5’3″, the amount of lifting overhead I do in real life is probably more than the average person. Reaching to put things on shelves, for instance, turns into a Herculean effort. Most of the time, the momentum from a good clean & press helps me get the job done – but only because my CNS is used to that movement pattern.

3. Front squats – I included this for a few reasons – mainly the stability gained from the front squat, but also because of the rack position.  Being able to hold that position is vital to holding really awkward boxes/loads and putting them on shelves or in cars (aka: in front of you). Front loaded split squats would also be appropriate to include here.

4. Farmers walks – This is another no-brainer. Holding a lot of things in both hands and power walking to the nearest place to drop it has become an Olympic sport for me. I recently added it to my training but I tend to do this on a regular basis with groceries, books, or anything else. Very useful & also helps with your grip.

5. Asymmetrical ANYTHING*** – This is triple starred because OH MY GOD. Even the most innocent looking box will shift and cause complete mayhem (trust me), so being able to stabilize is the most important thing ever. Also, there are a lot of times where something will end up on your shoulder, and another thing in your hand, and you have to walk (and/or probably squat down and pick something else up, because…of course) and being able to balance it all makes you a Gladiator. Asymmetrically loaded step ups, lunges, split squats, farmers walks, etc – they are lifelines.

6. Lateral movement – Being able to stabilize in the frontal plane is also valuable because there are a lot of times, particularly when things get cluttered, that you have to side-step & shimmy around with huge boxes still in your hand. Lateral squats, lunges, step ups, etc – also helps to fight muscle imbalances.

7. Pulls/Presses – These are standard, but very useful, particularly compound movements like overhead presses, push ups, push presses, pull ups, inverted rows, etc. Just being able to activate all those muscles in synchronicity helps avoid a lot of problems & makes you mighty

8. Grip training – This is sort of a by-product of Olympic lifting & pull up variations that you might include in your training, but grip is super important when trying to move awkward things. Being able to carry things when there aren’t convenient little handles is a skill in and of itself, so give yourself a fighting chance and work your grip.

9. STAIRS – loaded, unloaded, walking, running, lateral, backward, whatever – You will encounter stairs. Lots of stairs.

10. Conditioning in general – This is kind of a cop out, but if you’re in generally good shape, you’re still going to be sore as hell after moving. Do yourself a favor and sprint a little.

Anyone have some exercises they would add to the list or fun moving stories for me? Comment!!

About sten06

Master's in Kinesiology: Strength & Conditioning BSed in Exercise physiology -NSCA CSCS -NASM CPT, PES -Varsity Lacrosse Coach Saving the world one workout at a time ;)

Posted on July 14, 2012, in Fitness, Lacrosse, Strength & Conditioning, Training and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. lol! Ironically, I am procrastinating on continuing packing my apartment by reading this. I agree with them all, particularly the deadlifting and overhead pressing….and asymmetrical carries. And…yeah.

    Moving sucks.

  2. I just finished a big move a few months ago, and this post hits the nail right on the head! Without the weight training I had been doing, things would have been a lot more difficult! It’s awesome when you can apply something you really enjoy doing to “real life” encounters. Although the lazy side of me would’ve probably rather sat on the couch and watched big beefy moving men do the work for me 🙂

  3. Sled drags and sled / prowler pushes. Useful for rearranging furniture.

  4. vincentgrantallen

    Reblogged this on Move Well, Live Well and commented:
    A great post for those who are moving and can find a great workout in performing it.

  5. Agree with this 100% especially the deadlifting and overhead presses! Moving is a bitch, to put it bluntly. I hate it more than almost anything… But one thing I love about moving is that I’m really good at it, and I love seeing the looks on people’s faces when they go to hand me something like a lamp, and I’ll shove them aside and grab some furniture. BOOM! 🙂 The last 2 times I’ve moved, Will and I have done it ourselves without any help, so I fully appreciate the total body soreness and exhaustion from it all!

Leave a Reply

